Celebrating you: 2024 CORE Awards wrap-up

On Monday evening, the State Library was humming with excitement as we celebrated many of the brilliant people we work alongside.      

The 2024 SESLHD CORE Awards were a great success and an opportunity to recognise the teams and individuals who go above and beyond. You can see the full list of winners here.      

“I extend a big congratulations to the winners of this year’s CORE Awards,” says SESLHD Chief Executive, Tobi Wilson.        

“It was a great night that showcased the best of our District. These are people who are transforming healthcare, creating a fantastic working environment for their colleagues and giving back to our community.”       

“On Monday night, our CORE Award winners had their moment in the spotlight,” says SESLHD Director of People and Culture, Fiona Fahey.      

“I also extend my warm congratulations to the winners, those who were nominated, and I’d like to thank everyone who was able to join in the celebrations either in person or online.”      

This year, we received a record 219 nominations. The judges were impressed by the calibre of the nominations, and had a difficult task picking a winner in each of the categories.      

The seventeen awards recognise excellence across all parts of our District; from sustainability to workplace culture, and from Aboriginal Health to innovation. Our nominators and colleagues paid tribute to the winners of each award in a series of heartfelt videos. SESLHD was also privileged to welcome NSW Health Secretary, Susan Pearce, who delivered an opening address and presented an award.

The Multicultural Health team are the proud winners of the Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion award, for their work on the Addressing Racism Strategy. To date, they have trained 4,000 staff across the District in bystander intervention.    

“There’s often heartfelt thanks from the participants that we are addressing such an important issue,” says Lisa Woodland, SESLHD Director of Equity and Prevention. “The training really resonates with them, and after the training they feel confident in addressing racism.”   

SESLHD’s Director of Public Health, Dr Vicky Sheppeard nominated Aboriginal Immunisation Health Worker and Bidjigal woman, Sharon Brown (pictured centre), who won our 2024 Staff Member of the Year award.     

“Sharon’s always been so generous with sharing her cultural knowledge with the Public Health Unit, guiding those of us who are not Aboriginal in the best ways of working with our Aboriginal community,” Vicky says.    

“Sharon is always looking for ways to improve the health of Aboriginal people. When the pandemic happened, Sharon took on a range of additional responsibilities to help the Aboriginal community, leading up a team of Aboriginal Support Workers to support those who were in isolation and set up a whole system to support the Aboriginal community through COVID.”  

“She’s also a fabulous artist and shared her art with us for NAIDOC Activities, and she designed our school program nurse immunisation shirts with her wonderful art.”   

Keep an eye out on our SESLHD social media channels and upcoming editions of On the Pulse, where we will be profiling more of our CORE Awards winners. 

CORE Awards ceremony