Congratulations to our Australia Day Honours recipients

Each year, extraordinary Australians across the nation are recognised for their distinguished and conspicuous service through the Australian Honours and Awards system. 

Congratulations goes to three exceptional SESLHD staff, who have been appointed with awards in 2024, for their outstanding contribution and achievements in healthcare. 

Conjoint Associate Professor Sally McCarthy (pictured left), Senior Staff Specialist Emergency Medicine at Prince of Wales Hospital was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for her distinguished service to emergency medicine. 

Professor Julian Gold (pictured middle), Senior Staff Specialist at the Albion Centre, Population and Community Health was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to medicine and community health as a clinical epidemiologist and researcher. 

“I am very pleased to receive this recognition, and it is really also a reflection of the dedicated work of our staff over so many years,” said Professor Gold. 

“I want to mention the ongoing support and encouragement I get from our Chief Executive, both for the work in SESLHD and importantly for our WHO work in Asia and the Pacific.” 

Conjoint Professor Jacqueline Close (pictured right), Staff Specialist Geriatrician at Prince of Wales Hospital and Principal Research Fellow at NeuRA, also received an AM for her significant service to medical research, and to medicine as an orthogeriatrician. 

View the full Australia Day Honours List.

Australia Day Honours recipients