Sydney/Sydney Eye Hospital celebrates Foundation Day

A barbeque lunch served by senior management and the announcement of the annual staff awards were the highlights of the recent Sydney/Sydney Eye Hospital’s 2018 Foundation Day celebrations.

Jennie Barry, Director of Nursing & Support Services, headed up the management team serving the delicious barbecue lunch. Staff took advantage of the sunshine, mingling while enjoying lunch around the courtyard fountain. The annual staff awards were made extra special by the attendance of Jim Robertson, Judy Mann and Lesley Mann, relatives of Dr Thomas Fiaschi and Dr Piero Fiaschi, two renowned Sydney/Sydney Eye Hospital surgeons.

Mr Robertson is the great, great grandson of Dr Fiaschi, whilst Dr Fiaschi’s daughter, Marchesa Clarrisa Torrigiani, donated the iconic Il Porcellino statue in memory of her father and brother. The Il Porcellino statue will celebrate 50 years of standing in Macquarie Street this December. 

Following a key note speech, Dr Pauline Rumma, Director of Clinical Service and Medical Administration, Sydney/Sydney Eye Hospital, was awarded the Il Porcellino along with a 50 year service certificate, which was proudly accepted on her behalf by Mr Robertson.

"II Porcellino is very popular with tourists and staff alike, becoming a very important feature of Sydney Hospital and Sydney Eye Hospital's history. His shiny snout is popular with people passing by and invites them to toss a coin into the grate. Over the last 50 years this has raised approximately $500,000 for the hospital,” Dr Rumma said.

Many staff and volunteers were awarded long service medals for 10 to 40 years of service, with the most impressive award being for 50 years of service to Dawn Lewis, clerk. 

Kathryn Szyszka represented the Cobby family and presented the Anita Cobby Nursing Grant for 2018. It was awarded to Carolyn Smith, Deputy Director of Nursing, and will go towards her completion of postgraduate studies in a Masters of Public Administration.

Other award winners included:

  • Acknowledgement of Nurse of the Year (awarded on International Nurses Day) – Justin Quigley, EN Emergency Department
  • Team award – Hand Procedure Room Implementation Team and Security Services
  • Work Health and Safety Award – Hotel Services
  • Junior Medical Officer – Dr Shanil Dhanji
  • Clinical Innovation Award – Multidisciplinary Cataract Pre-Assessment Clinic: Lesley McDowell, NUM OPD and Melanie Lai, Othoptics Manager
  • Staff Achievement Award – Ann Hodge, NM-Operational Nurse Support

Whilst a total of 34 staff members were nominated for the Staff Achievement Award this year, Jennie said that Ann had demonstrated commitment and enthusiasm in every aspect of her role over the past year, going above and beyond.

"Ann has a strong emphasis on patient safety, leading the implementation of Patient Opinion across the site in 2016, and regularly her voice is heard in multiple forums challenging our thinking, the ways that we can do things and the care we provide our patients,” Jennie said.

More photos from the event are available on the SESLHD Facebook page.

Hospital staff serving bbq lunch