AHU banner

Aboriginal Health Unit

Content Warning

The Aboriginal Health Unit advises that this website may contain names, images, voices or links to other websites that may contain images or voices of deceased persons.

AHU artworkSouth Eastern Sydney Local Health District (SESLHD)  Aboriginal  Health Unit would like to acknowledge the traditional custodians on whose lands we stand, and whose lands our facilities are located on; the lands of the Dharawal, Gadigal, Wangal, Gweagal and Bidjigal peoples. We pay our respects to the Elders past, present, and those of the future.

The South Eastern Sydney Local Health District Aboriginal Health Unit provides cultural and strategic advice on policy, program, and service delivery. The AHU is also responsible for the coordination and strategic management of Aboriginal Health initiatives that deliver culturally appropriate primary health care to the Aboriginal communities within the Local Health District. 

A large part of the AHU's role is advocating for changes in policy and practice, as well as providing support and guidance to the Aboriginal Workforce in the District.

As a district, SESLHD strives to achieve a higher standard of well-being for Aboriginal ad Torres Strait Islander people by enhancing equity for the community and working in partnership to close the gap in health, well-being and life expectancy between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and other Australians.

Artwork by Amy Hill (Gamilaroi Nation)


The artwork, South Eastern Boundaries, by Brenden Broadbent. Commissioned by  SESLHD District Mental Health Service. SESLHD had a population of more than 900,000 people with 1% identifying as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander*. 

In the district, 1.8% of babies born identify as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander and the median age for the population is 25-26 years, compared to 35-40 for other Australians*.

(*Source, Australian Bureau of Statistics, 2016)

Artwork by Brenden Broadbent (Tharawal Nation) 

South Eastern Sydney Local Health District (SESLHD) is committed to working with, and for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to close the gap in health outcomes and overall wellbeing.

In SESLHD, we strive to achieve this at every level. From the frontline Aboriginal Health Workers, nurses and allied health staff, to the Chief Executive who voiced The District's commitment to Closing the Gap.

SESLHD Close the Gap 2021 - Chief Executive Tobi Wilson