Sydney city

Research groups active across Sydney city sites are detailed below:

The Albion Centre is an ambulatory multidisciplinary service that provides clinical support to clients at living with; or at risk of, HIV, viral hepatitis or sexually transmitted infections. It cares for a large cohort of HIV infected clients and has expertise in the use of antiretroviral therapy.

Key contacts:

Raghib Ahmad (medical)

raghib.ahmad@health.nsw.gov.au

Lia Purnomo (dietetics)

lia.purnomo@health.nsw.gov.au

Ruth Hennessy (psychology)

Ruth.Hennessy@health.nsw.gov.au

Research clinicians:

Professor Don Smith

don.smith@health.nsw.gov.au

Research areas: HIV management.

Jane Marriott

jane.marriott@health.nsw.gov.au

Research areas: Nutrition and dietetics, HIV.

Dr Kim Begley

kim.begley@health.nsw.gov.au

Research areas: HIV and mental health, clinical complexity and its impact on chronic health management and medical adherence.

Shiraze Bulsara

Shiraze.bulsara@health.nsw.gov.au

Research areas: HIV and mental health, retention in HIV care and clinical complexity and its impact on chronic health management.

The Kirketon Road Centre is involved in the prevention, treatment and care of HIV and other transmissible infections (e.g. STIs and hepatitis) among “at-risk” young people, sex workers and people who inject drugs. KRC sees a high number of LGBT, Aboriginal and homeless clients, and operates a large needle and syringe program under a harm reduction framework.

Key contact:

Phillip Read

phillip.read1@health.nsw.gov.au

Research areas: STIs, HIV, hepatitis, drug use, harm reduction.

i-REAP (Integrated Rehabilitation and EnAblement Program)

i-REAP is a novel, integrative day rehabilitation model targeting a frail, older population with multi-morbidity. It is an anticipatory eight-week intervention coordinating access to a team of allied health professionals and geriatrician to assist with client self-management and enablement to manage their health independently or with appropriate support in the community.

Key contact:

Annabel Kingsford

Annabel.Kingsford@health.nsw.gov.au

Physiotherapy
Key contact:

Jill Hall

jill.hall@health.nsw.gov.au

Research areas: Translational and clinical research in Aged Care and Rehabilitation. Main current project is the Fitness and Wellbeing beyond the Hospital (Clinical Trial).

Research clinicians:

Dr Audrey Wang

audrey.wang1@health.nsw.gov.au

Research areas: Rehabilitation, non-pharmacological pain management, gerontology, CRPS, neuroimaging, fitness and wellness beyond the hospital (clinical trial).

Speech pathology
Key contact:

Rachel Kingma

rachel.kingma@health.nsw.gov.au